top of page

Colorado Winter; Snowmobiling for the Newbie

Winter outdoors for the Newbie

About 10 years ago I was forced to go on a ski trip and adventure outdoors in the Rocky Mountains in winter with some co-workers. I had never been skiing and don’t like the snow. But after grumbling and whining I discovered magic! I found a guided snowmobile trip with lessons for beginners in Winter Park. I paid to rent the snowmobile and it came with lessons and then a group guided tour around Winter Park.

Wix image steering a snowmobile

The total time was less than 4 hours and I was safely brought back to the hotel.

Riding a snowmobile slowly is not very complicated, but steering does take a certain amount of strength. It will help if you can drive a motorcycle, there are similarities. The driver needs to be able to pull the two skis from side to side on the front of the machine to steer it. I did suffer some sore shoulders muscles the next day and I was very tired, but it was a blast. I don’t remember the company name but I believe this was probably the company; “Grand Adventures” at the Winter Park Mountain Lodge.

https://www.grandadventures.com/snowmobiling/snowmobiling/

The driver needs a valid driver’s license and credit card. Driver is $105 with another passenger $60. The tour states they are in radio contact with your guide at all times. It is intimidating to be in a snow filled forest, and even easier to get lost. I got behind on the tour because I was tired and was the last person to return from my tour. The guide came back to look for me. There was one person (not me) who crashed the snowmobile into the tree and had to be towed out of a snowbank, but they weren’t injured.

Dress warmly in layers and enjoy. I absolutely recommend the experience.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page