top of page

What's In Grand Junction?

What’s in Grand Junction?

Let’s be real honest here, who goes to Grand Junction, Colorado for a long weekend? Your answer lies right here in this article. I went to visit a friend of mine and discovered one of the most amazing hiking trails. I’m not a big hiker, let’s get that out in the open right away. Steep inclines, tripping over rocks, and bugs in my face and hair? I’ll pass. This hike was more of a nature walk, easy, soothing, and incredibly beautiful. Just outside of the city sits the Monument, full of trails for everybody. From the advanced hiker, with the repelling gear and the fancy boots, to those like me who just want a little stroll in the beautiful outdoors, there’s a trail for everyone.

I was in no way prepared for this hike. I didn’t pack hiking boots (because I don’t own any) and all I had to wear was some jeans and a t-shirt with some Vans. Some hiking outfit there. I looked at my friend and she was decked out in leggins, nice tennis shoes and I thought, “this is it, I’m gonna die hiking in Grand Junction”. Yeah, I was off there. It wasn’t bad at all.

We drove up to the trail head on the east side of the Monument. The trail was called Mica Mine trail, in Bangs canyon.. The initial descent was a bit intimidating, but after getting started it wasn’t that bad. Because the trail goes down into a canyon, which in the spring has a little stream running through it from all the mountain run off, there is a bit of an incline on the way up. In the fall, when I was there, the trees were all changing color and stood out against the cool rocks that make up the walls of the canyon.

The hike was around three miles in total, taking me down to a little cove with some really cool rocks. For all you ameture geologists, this is the place to go. Bring your rock hammer and smash away to collect some samples of granite, mica and quartz. We brought a little picnic, setting up camp in the shade of the cove, pictured below, and just relaxed and took in nature.

For the amateur hiker, I’d recommend this trail, among others around the several Monument. It’s a beautiful place, despite the long drive from Denver. It definitely changed my views on why someone would vacation out to Grand Junction.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page